RSS Feed

Super Spaghetti Squash

I love pasta, but I try as much as possible to avoid it. There are 200 calories in one serving of this carb-filled ‘staple’, but hardly anyone stops there. The average pasta dish in a restaurant is 3 or 4 servings, and even people who make it at home use more than one handful-sized serving. So when I found this recipe for spaghetti made out of a vegetable … I was amused, but pretty skeptical. Squash = spaghetti? Can it be? IT CAN. I made this today and it tasted like a slightly crunchier version of spaghetti, with an amazing taste. And at only 45 calories a cup, it can’t be beat! Plus, the cooking process is so easy. With only three ingredients and NO added oil/ butter/ salt, there is no pasta dish simpler and healthier than this.

Step 1) Scoop all seeds out of half of squash and fill the space with 1/3 cup water. Microwave on high for 8 minutes.

Step 2) Bring pasta sauce to a simmer. I use Classico’s Florentine Spinach and Cheese tomato sauce. It has 80 cal per 1/2 cup, but I’m going to try and find a lower cal sauce next time I go shopping. This tastes really yummy though! 

Step 3) Remove squash from microwave and scoop out flesh with a fork (it will automatically take the shape of spaghetti). Top with sauce and sprinkle with cheese.

– 125 cal –

About The Muffin Top Cop

A health freak college student; what an oxymoron, right? Journalism major, 19 years young. I'm into food (of the healthy variety), fashion and living fit. I'm known in my family as the 'food police' - that pretty much sums me up!

2 responses »

  1. Now this would be a perfect lunch 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

