RSS Feed

Bombastic Black Bean Brownies

Yes, I know that I must sound completely crazy when I use ‘black beans’ and ‘brownies’ in the same recipe title. But believe me, I’m not. The black beans are a substitute for flour, and by using beans instead, you go from around 250 cals/brownie to only about 60! Now THAT is a huge improvement. Plus, you get additional vitamins and health benefits from eating beans instead of carb-filled flour. Can this get even better? Hold your horses – it can. Making these brownies pretty much involves only step. Believe it!

This recipe was created by Chef Rocco, but I used Ridiculously Healthy‘s recipe because it involves fewer ingredients. What can I say, I’m lazy sometimes 😦 

Step 1) Put all ingredients (except chocolate chips) into blender and blend really well. Leave it in the blender for a long time, otherwise pieces of black bean will be tasted/ seen. I blend my batter for about 5 minutes.

Pour into a baking dish sprayed with PAM and sprinkle chocolate chips on top. Bake at 350°F for half an hour.

– approx. 60 cal/ brownie – 

My Black Bean Brownies currently have an air-filled, soft consistency. I love my brownies thick and cake-like, so if anyone tries this and adds something to make them this way, PLEASE tell me! I’m currently experimenting, but I can always use your help! 

About The Muffin Top Cop

A health freak college student; what an oxymoron, right? Journalism major, 19 years young. I'm into food (of the healthy variety), fashion and living fit. I'm known in my family as the 'food police' - that pretty much sums me up!

2 responses »

  1. I would think it’s the egg whites and all that blending that is giving it that airy texture. Try blending the black beans into flour like consistency and beat by hand. Add a yolk or two in (and reduce number of egg whites?). I think egg yolks help provide a denser texture to baked goods.

    Reply
    • Hmm that could be. Yolks do provide that texture, but I’m trying to reduce the calorie count as far as I can, and yolks are very high cal 😦 But next batch I’ll try blending everything else and adding the yolks last – thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

