RSS Feed

Spinach & Feta Stuffed Chicken

I love cheese and I love chicken. But when I order a dish that contains these two at a restaurant, it often contains as many calories as I eat in a whole day! So, when I found a recipe card at Shop Rite offering me chicken, feta and spinach (which I also love) all rolled up into one, I took it right away. However, I tried to make it even lower calorie by switching the feta cheese for a reduced-fat variety, and the oil for PAM no-calorie spray. It tasted amazing, especially with some reduced-fat parmesan sprinkled on top.  The feta flavor goes so well with the spinach; it was the perfect lunch dish. And the final product is so beautiful that it does NOT look like a low calorie recipe! Impress your friends and family with what a pro-style healthy chef you are 😉

*You will also need wooden toothpicks 

Step 1) Place chicken between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and pound till it is about 1/4 inch thick

Step 2) Cook garlic and spinach in a pan

Step 3) Place spinach in center of chicken breast, top with feta cheese

Step 4) Roll the chicken breast up, securing with toothpicks (this took me quite some time and there is no right way to roll it, just use plenty of toothpicks and pretend to have skill!)

Step 5) Spray baking dish with PAM and place chicken in it. Spray chicken with PAM and sprinkle on italian seasoning.

Step 6) Bake at 200°F for 25 – 30 min (check that it is cooked before you eat it – cooking time depends on the thickness of your chicken)

– approx. 220 cal for whole dish – 

About The Muffin Top Cop

A health freak college student; what an oxymoron, right? Journalism major, 19 years young. I'm into food (of the healthy variety), fashion and living fit. I'm known in my family as the 'food police' - that pretty much sums me up!

2 responses »

  1. We don’t have PAM here in Malaysia, do we? You will have to send me a bottle of PAM right away.. Alternatively, can I use butter for this dish instead?

    Reply
    • I’m not sure if PAM is available there, but there should be other sprays. You can use butter, but that will make it less healthy – I use PAM because it has absolutely no calories, yet serves the same purpose as oil/butter 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

