RSS Feed

Not appreciative of ‘Big Girl Appreciation Day’

For those of you who will read this and automatically condemn me for being a ‘size 2 cultist’, stop in your tracks. I know your kind, and I’m here to say that I’m NOT supportive of “only thin = beauty.” However, I AM supportive of healthy, whatever size that may be. Exercise and a balanced diet are the pinnacles of my beliefs, and I don’t think that Big Girl Appreciation Day encourages these things.

In America, we have a problem. We have come to terms with obesity, but not by realizing that it’s an issue. We have embraced it, and now preach the mantra that ‘big is beautiful too.’ Sure it is – but morbid obesity is not. Women in this country have used this idea as an excuse to munch on whatever they please and not be criticized, because all body shapes should be loved. If you go for walks and don’t ingest manufactured excuses for food, then more power to ya! But preaching big beauty should not mean you get to, as one Twitter post about BGA Day said, “eat a super greasy meal” and celebrate.

Size 2 or size 12, you are beautiful. Until you use ‘equal appreciation’ to defend your dinner of Burger King and Dairy Queen.

About The Muffin Top Cop

A health freak college student; what an oxymoron, right? Journalism major, 19 years young. I'm into food (of the healthy variety), fashion and living fit. I'm known in my family as the 'food police' - that pretty much sums me up!

Leave a Reply

