RSS Feed

Greektastic Salad

While salad may be the infamous diet food, I’m not a fan of plain vegetables. Since I dislike raw tomatos and cucumbers (notorious salad staples) it’s hard for me to stick with what is normally offered in terms of this veggie plate. That’s why I love Greek salad – the added feta cheese and olives tickles my taste buds and take this dish who a whole new level. I’ve come up with my own version that’s easy to make, requires no cooking (except to quickly roast the almonds) and tastes ahhhhmazing. I sometimes make it in the morning and pack it to eat between classes. It’s much lower calorie than the salads you can get on campus/ in restaurants and it stays fresh for a long time.

Step 1) Drizzle balsamic vinegar and sprinkle italian seasoning on lettuce and toss.

Step 2) Heat a pan and toss almonds on high heat for 30 seconds. Turn off pan and let them cool while you make the rest.

Step 3) Slice olives and place on bed of lettuce.

Step 4) Toss in feta cheese, top with more italian seasoning.

Step 5) Add almonds and enjoy!

About The Muffin Top Cop

A health freak college student; what an oxymoron, right? Journalism major, 19 years young. I'm into food (of the healthy variety), fashion and living fit. I'm known in my family as the 'food police' - that pretty much sums me up!

Leave a Reply

